Каталог
Григорий Леонтьевич Чайников

Григорий Леонтьевич Чайников

1960 —2008
  • Заслуженный деятель искусств Удмуртской республики
  • Член-корреспондент Российской академии художеств

Григорий Леонтьевич Чайников - самобытный и, страстно преданный своему делу, художник, чьи работы наполнены любовью к родине, искренностью, безмятежностью и пронзительной лирикой. Чайников родился в маленьком и неприметном Удмуртском селе Грахово 28 ноября в 1960 году. Однако, детство свое художник провел в большом селе Вавож, в Удмуртии, что позже повлекло за собой шутливое прозвище Чайникова "Вавожский художник". Судьба сложилась так, что художник лишился родителей в раннем возрасте и воспитывался бабушкой Анастасией Николаевной вместе с младшим братом и двумя старшими сестрами. Помогая прокормить семью, Чайников уже в раннем возрасте пяти лет, уходил в поле пасти скот. Летние, долгие будни пастуха способствовали развитию отношений художника с окружающим миром, с природой, а также располагали к зарисовкам на открытом воздухе. Близкое знакомство с неприхотливым миром деревенского быта, лугами и полями, реками и лесами, разнообразием трав и цветов, всколыхнуло в Чайникове пожизненную тягу к сельской местности. Сам художник утверждал: "Природа дарит мотивы вечные. Закат, рассвет, вечер, поляна или метель… Передай свои ощущения - и будешь новым. Темы повторяются, а искусство, художник остаются. Меня волнует жизнь неба, облаков, хочется вселенности, таинства".

В 1978 году Чайников начал обучение на художественно-графическом факультете Удмуртского Государственного Университета. Увлечение рисунком и восхищение природой переросло в нечто большее и проявилось в ярком таланте художника. Академическая среда углубила интерес Чайникова и вдохновила своим уклоном в традиционный грандиозный классицизм. Работоспособность и дарование Чайникова не могли остаться без внимания, и вскоре его, как особо талантливого студента, переводят в Московский Государственный Академический Художественный Институт имени Сурикова в ученики к Виктору Цыплакову, к лауреату государственной премии СССР и прекрасному педагогу. Под руководством Цыплакова, Чайников переходит с акварели на масло и осваивает новый навык работы с холстом, без каких-либо предварительных эскизов и вспомогательных рисунков. После окончания Суриковского института в 1987 году, Чайников начинает стажироваться в 1988 году у двух именитых народных художников СССР Алексея и Сергея Ткачевых, чье внимание Чайников привлек, еще будучи студентом. Наставничество, дружба и покровительство братьев Ткачевых сыграло большую роль в творческом становлении и признании Чайникова. Так же в 1988 году Чайников был принят в Союз Художников России. В 1991 году художник заканчивает стажировку у Ткачевых в мастерских Российской Академии Художеств и сосредотачивает свое внимание на работе в Доме Творчества им. И.Е. Репина, где пишет большую часть своих картин.

Чайников добивается своего особого места в движении Русского Реализма и ревностно следует традициям русского искусства. Чайников, рассуждая о своих картинах, заявлял, что "когда речь идет о реализме, то это не столько форма, сколько духовное содержание. Без души форма скуднеет". Особенно эти проявления "души" чувствуются в портретах Чайникова. Жанр портрета занимает совершенно особое место в творчестве художника. В этих работах Чайникова прослеживается неповторимый, яркий "почерк". Картины художника имеют любопытную особенность поэтизировать обыденность и изображать людей так, что зритель сразу проникается, чувствует некую связь. Чайников возносит простых людей как героев своих картин до возвышенного, благородного, духовного. Художник изъездил множество уголков страны, побывав и в Тверской, и в Рязанской, и в Архангельской областях, и в Вятке, Соловке, Валааме, среди многих других. Эти путешествия оживали в картинах Чайникова изображающих тихие деревни и бескрайние просторы неповторимой русской природы. Сдержанная тональность, непосредственность в композиции, простосердечность людей в этих пейзажах, и бесхитростные мотивы, из раза в раз появляющиеся в картинах Чайникова, запечатлевают момент, переданный через чистый и честный взгляд художника. Несмотря на то, что сердце Чайникова принадлежало сельской местности, Москва стала его второй родиной. С 1988 года художник является постоянным участником выставок в России и за рубежом. В 2001 году Чайников становится членом-корреспондентом Академии Художеств России.

Трагическая потеря для мира искусства происходит, когда художник преждевременно умирает 8 сентября 2008 года, в возрасте 48 лет.


Источники:

Погодин, В., Ткачев, А. and Ткачев, С. (2009). Григорий Чайников. Москва: Белый Город.

Rusrealart.ru. (n.d.). ИРРИ | Чайников Григорий Леонтьевич. [online] Available at: http://www.rusrealart.ru/media/artists/first-floor/218/ 

Archive.udmpravda.ru. (2008). Удмуртский менталитет московского художника. Памяти Григория Чайникова.. [online] Available at: http://archive.udmpravda.ru/default/article?article=1220457061

Grigory Leontievich Chainikov

Grigory Leontievich Chainikov

1960 —2008
  • Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Arts
  • Honored Artist of the Udmurt Republic
Grigory Leontievich Chainikov was a distinctive, bright artist who was passionately devoted to his art and whose genuinely lyrical work is filled with love for the homeland, sincerity, serenity and poetic quality which penetrates one's soul. Chainikov was born on November 28, 1960, in a small and distant village of Grakhovo, in Udmurtia, Russia. However, the artist spent his childhood in Vavozh, a much larger village, in Udmurtia and later, it developed into a nickname that was given to Chainikov 'The artist of Vavozh'. It happened that both his parents passed when the artist was still at a very early age and he was raised by his grandmother Anastasia Nikolaevna with his younger brother and two older sisters. In order to support his family, Chainikov at the age of five years was heading out into the fields to herd sheep. Long and tedious, summer days of a shepherd were contributing to the development of the relationship between the artist and the world that was surrounding him, the raw, unspoilt nature as well as facilitated to make sketches outdoors, to learn from nature. This intimate knowledge of an unpretentious, rustic, pastoral world and simple life of villagers, fields and meadows, rivers and forests, the variety of herbs and flowers, clearly could awaken this life-long commitment to the countryside and rural communities. The artist himself was arguing that 'nature bestows the perpetual motives for inspiration. Sunset, sunrise, evening, a meadow or a snowstorm… If you can translate your feelings - you can be original. Subject matters recur throughout, but the art and the artist remain to this day. I care about the life of the sky, clouds, I strive for the universal, for the mystery.'

Chainikov started his official artistic training in 1978 in the Udmurt State University in the department of the Graphic Arts. The artist's fascination with the nature and his interest in drawing grew into something more, when he decided to undertake the artistic path, and later were manifested in his bright talent. The academic environment greatly enhanced Chainikov's interest in arts and inspired him with its traditional grand classicism aura. It was hard to ignore that Chainikov was a successful, hard-working and gifted student. Soon, in 1982, he was referred to the prestigious Surikov Art Institute in Moscow under the guidance and supervision of Victor Tsyplakov, an excellent teacher and one of the USSR State Prize lauretes. Chainikov picked up his teacher valuable skills and mastered a new way of painting directly on the canvas without any preliminary sketches. Tsyplakov was an influential figure for Chainikov not only as a teacher, but eventually as a friend. After graduating from the Surikov Institute in 1987, Chainikov started his internship in 1988 with two highly esteemed People's artists of the USSR Aleksei Tkachev and Sergei Tkachev, whose attention Chainikov had attracted while still being a student. Mentoring, friendship, and patronage of the Tkachev brothers played a significant role in the creative formation and public recognition of the artist. Also, in 1988 Chainikov became a member of the Union of Artists of Russia. In 1991, the artist finished his internship with the Tkachev brothers in the workshops of the Russian Academy of Arts and focused on painting in the "Akademicheskaya Dacha" or Academic Dacha, in the renowned Russian art village and creative base for the Union of Artists of Russia, where he created most of his artworks.

Chainikov has achieved his own position in the Russian Realism movement and zealously followed the tradition of Russian art. When Chainikov was talking about his paintings, he once said, that 'when it comes to Realism, it is not so much a form but spiritual content. Without a soul, the form is tenuous.' These manifestations of the soul can be especially evident in Chainikov's portraits. The genre of the portrait occupies a very special place in Chainikov's art. A unique, peculiar aspect of these works lies in Chainikov's curious ability to add poetic quality to completely mundane subject matters and to depict people in that way that the viewer instantly feels a certain connection because of the striking sincerity and innocence of the work. The artist elevates ordinary people to the realm of sublime, spiritual, and grand. Chainikov travelled to many distant parts of the country, visiting Tver, Ryazan, Arkhangelsk regions, Vyatka, Solovka, Valaam, among many others. These journeys came to life in the paintings, depicting quiet villages and vast expanses of unique Russian nature. Restrained tonality, spontaneity in the composition, sincerity of people in these landscapes, and simple, truthful motives are shown over and over again in Chainikov's paintings, depicting the moment transmitted through a pure and honest perspective of the artist. Despite the fact, that the heart of Chainikov belonged to the countryside, Moscow became his second homeland. Since 1988, the artist has been a regular participant of exhibitions in Russia and abroad. In 2001, he became a Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Arts.

The artist's death was a tragic loss for the world of art. He died prematurely on September 8, 2008, at the age of forty-eight.

Погодин, В., Ткачев, А. and Ткачев, С. (2009). Григорий Чайников. Москва: Белый Город. (n.d.). ИРРИ | Чайников Григорий Леонтьевич. [online] Available at: (2008). Удмуртский менталитет московского художника. Памяти Григория Чайникова.. [online] Available at: