Каталог
Николай Петрович Глущенко

Николай Петрович Глущенко

1901 —1977
  • Орден Трудового Красного Знамени (1960)
  • Государственная Премия УССР имени Т. Г. Шевченко (1972)
  • Народный Художник УССР (1944)
  • Народный Художник СССР (1976)
Николай Глущенко как был при жизни, так и после своей смерти является одним из самых востребованных украинских советских художников. Интеллигентный, чрезвычайно талантливый, изысканный эстет, впитывающий в себя новые тенденции в искусстве и умеющий поддерживать отношения с очень разными людьми, Глущенко был не только выдающимся художником, но и, благодаря своей храбрости и проницательному уму, зашифрованным советским разведчиком. Одним из первых Глущенко имел возможность проинформировать руководство СССР о предстоящей атаке фашистской Германии. Однако, в первую очередь Глущенко посвятил свою жизнь искусству. Он начинал свою художественную карьеру работая в свой Берлинский период в стиле Neue Sachlichkeit (Новая Вещественность), немецкое модернистское течение, связанное с движением Реализма в 1920-х годах. Затем, ознакомившись с тем, что предлагал Париж, Глущенко переходит в постимпрессионизм. Одним из его любимых жанров был пейзаж. Множество французских, итальянских, голландских и украинских пейзажей Глущенко оставил после себя. Также, часто работал в стиле натюрморта, рисовал обнаженную натуру, создавал портреты.

Художник родился в маленьком городке с богатыми традициями казаков, Новомосковск, в России, вблизи Екатеринослава (нынче Днепр) 17 сентября 1901 года. Детство свое он провел в селе Борисовка. Одним из ярчайших воспоминаний того периода художник считал свое знакомство с процессом создания икон. Мальчик видел как трудятся богомазы и как происходит сотворение иконы с самого начала и до последних штрихов. В юности он переехал в Юзовку (Донецк), где и начал делать первые шаги в освоении рисунка. Глущенко посещал уроки рисования в коммерческом училище. В то время художник восхищался работами Репина и Васильковского.

После окончания училища, в 1918 году, в смутные и трудные времена революционных событий в Украине, Глущенко присоединился к Украинской армии. Когда армия была разбита, он, с оставшимися в живых белогвардейцами, попал в плен в польский лагерь для интернированных лиц. Глущенко смог сбежать в 1919 году без каких-либо документов и средств к существованию в Германию. На помощь юному художнику пришли состоятельные и влиятельные украинские эмигранты. Например, гетман П. Скоропадский, представитель Украинской Народной Республики в Берлине, отметив особый дар к рисованию и пытливый ум юноши, оплатил ему учебу в частной художественной студии Ганса Балушека. В этот период времени на Глущенко знакомится с работами немецкой художницы Кете Кольвиц и художника Адольфа фон Менцель. Глущенко продолжил обучаться уже в частной школе профессора Артура Кампфа. В целом, будучи в Берлине, Глущенко завел полезные знакомства и получил хорошие связи. Например, писатель и кинорежиссер А. Довженко, который на тот момент работал в консульстве УССР, впоследствии помог художнику получить советский паспорт и познакомил Глущенко с В. Винниченко, который посодействовал в организации первой персональной выставки художника в Берлине. В 1921 году Глущенко поступил в Академию Искусств и успешно закончил свое художественное образование в 1924 году. Это был период, когда на юного Глущенко особенно повлияли работы знаменитого шведского художника Андерса Цорна. Еще в 1924 году, Глущенко заметили немецкие художественные критики, когда несколько его картин были отправлены в Kasper Art Gallery. О Глущенко писали, что "его портреты как в плане исполнения, так и относительно художественных средств ярко показывают, что это выдающийся талант с большой интеллектуально-эстетической многоплановостью".

Как и несметное множество художников до него, Глущенко решил обосноваться на какое-то время в художественной Мекке, в Париже. Так, в 1925 году, Глущенко переезжает в город, который ошеломляет художника своими художественными течениями и вдохновляет его на новый уровень в его живописи. Влияния импрессионизма и особенно К. Монэ и Э. Дега, постимпрессионизма и его особо яркого представителя Ван Гога, и конечно же последователей Фовизма таких как Матисс, Вламинк и Дерен, не могли обойти работу Глущенко стороной. Художник также выказывал большое уважение работам английского художника У. Тернера. Фортуна сопутствовала Глущенко и успех в его карьеру пришел достаточно быстро. Художник в скором времени смог привлечь одобрение французских критиков. Он выставлялся в одних из самых престижных галерей Парижа таких как Salon d`automne, Salon des Independants, и the Salon des Tuileries. Его картины удостоились чести выставляться рядом с работами Пикассо, Ван Гога и Матисса. В 1925 году, Глущенко помогал оформлять Советский павильон на выставке в Лионе. Как один из ведущих художников СССР, он помогал с организацией советских экспозиций на международных выставках в Брюсселе, Милане, Париже, и Марселе. Участвовал в организации выставок советских художников в Париже включая выставку Петра Кончаловского. Глущенко был всегда в центре внимания: статный, отлично чувствующий себя в светском обществе, великолепный собеседник и приятный человек. Художник открыл свое художественное ателье в Париже, где собиралась на светских вечерах самая разношерстная публика: парижане, туристы, бывшие соотечественники, представители интеллигенции, правительственные чиновники, лидеры украинских заграничных организаций. Даже австро-венгерский эрцгерцог Вильгельм фон Габсбург, племянник бывшего императора Австрии Франца-Иосифа, был частым гостем этого заведения. Так, в 1926 году, Глущенко навестили в его ателье сотрудники советской разведки, которым показалось деятельность Глущенко и его личность крайне подходящими для их целей, и с тех пор художник собирал информацию для Советского Союза. Некоторые портреты, которые Глущенко выполнял с тех пор, были заказаны Советским правительством.

Глущенко был очень социально активным художником и концентрировался не только на своем искусстве, но и на общественных мероприятиях. В начале 1930-х годов Глущенко состоял в Ассоциации Независимых Художников Украины и участвовал в организации широкомасштабной выставки украинских, французских и итальянских работ в Национальном Музее Львова. В 1934 году он совершил творческую командировку в Испанию: на Балеарские острова и Мальорку. Под влиянием коммунистических идей, в 1936 художник переехал в Москву. При первой возможности он уезжал в горячо любимую Украину и сосредотачивался на своей живописи и окружающем его пейзаже. Ему разрешили жить в Украине только после войны, когда его работы стали отражать официально допустимое художественное направление Соцреализм. В 1944 году художник наконец переехал в Киев. В 1960-х годах контакт с Западными странами, поездки за границу и знакомства с новыми художественными тенденциями наконец обретают особенно четкое очертание в работах Глущенко. Он оживил свои картины экспрессивными красками и занял ведущую позицию среди украинских колористов. При жизни художника произошли его 32 персональные выставки. Только в Киеве состоялось более десяти выставок. Работы Глущенко выставлялись в Берлине в 1924 году, в Париже прошло 5 выставок художника с 1925 по 1934 года, в Милане в 1927 году, в Остенде в 1927, в Будапеште в 1930 и 1932 годах, в Стокгольме в 1931 году, в Риме в 1933 году, во Львове в 1934 и 1935 годах, в Москве в 1943 и 1959 годах, в Белграде в 1966 и 1968 годах, в Лондоне в 1966 году, в Торонто с 1967 и по 1969 год. В 1970-е года художник увлекся техникой монотипии. Умер Глущенко 31 октября 1977 года в Киеве. Глущенко оставил более 10 тысяч работ, которые хранятся по всему миру в частных коллекциях и музеях России, Украины, Франции, Германии, Канады и США.

Источники:
Асеева Н. Ю. Художественные контакты Советской Украины и Франции в 20–30-е годы // Советское искусствознание–81. М., 1982. Вып. 1. С. 293-307.
Buhaienko, I. Mykola Hlushchenko (Kyiv 1973)
day.kyiv.ua. (2014). “A Parisian handsome man, bohemian, and painter”. [online] Available at: https://day.kyiv.ua/en/article/time-out/parisian-handsome-man-bohemian-and-painter
Demyanok, A. (2013). Николай Глущенко: художник и разведчик | Информационно-аналитическое издание. [online] Odnarodyna.org. Available at: https://odnarodyna.org/content/nikolay-glushchenko-hudozhnik-i-razvedchik
Epoque.com.ua. (n.d.). Художники. Николай Глущенко. [online] Available at: http://epoque.com.ua/ru/info/authors/5/162.html
Kovzhun, P.; Hordyns'kyi, S. Mykola Hlushchenko (Lviv 1934)
Shpakov, A. Mykola Petrovych Hlushchenko (Kyiv 1962)
Ukrainian Art Library. (n.d.). Mykola Hlushchenko: My best picture has not been created yet – Ukrainian Art Library. [online] Available at: http://en.uartlib.org/mykola-hlushchenko-best-picture-not-created-yet/

Inventory
Nikolai Petrovich Glushchenko

Nikolai Petrovich Glushchenko

1901 —1977
  • The Order Of The Red Banner Of Labour (1960)
  • The winner of the Shevchenko National Prize (1972)
  • People's Artist of Ukrainian SSR (1944)
  • People's Artist of USSR (1976)

Nikolai Glushchenko has been not only one of the most prominent Soviet Ukrainian artists during his lifetime, but he also remains highly recognised posthumously. He was an intelligent, greatly talented, sophisticated aesthete, who was absorbing new trends in art and able to maintain amicable relations with quite diverse people. Glushchenko was not only an outstanding artist but also, by virtue of his courage and keen mind, he worked for the Soviet intelligence. It was Glushchenko, who one of the first had the opportunity to inform the Soviet government about the upcoming attack of Nazi Germany. However, first and foremost, Glushchenko has dedicated his life to art. He began his artistic career during working in the Neue Sachlichkeit style (New Objectivity), the German modernist movement associated with the movement of Realism in the 1920s, during his Berlin period. Then, after encountering the artistic scene in Paris, Glushchenko was fascinated by post-impressionism. One of his favourite genres was the landscape. Many French, Italian, Dutch and Ukrainian landscapes were repeatedly created during the artist's lifetime. He also was often attracted to still life, nude, and portraiture.

The artist was born in a small town with rich traditions of Cossacks, Novomoskovsk, Russia, close to Yekaterinoslav (now Dnipro) on September 17, 1901. He spent his childhood in the village of Borisovka. The artist considered as one of the brightest and simultaneously first artistic memories of that period his acquaintance with the process of creating icons. The boy witnessed the work of iconographers and how a new icon is created step by step. In his youth, he moved to Yuzovka (Donetsk), where he began to take his first movements towards the development of his ability to draw. Glushchenko was taking drawing classes at the commercial school. At that time, the artist especially admired the works of Repin and Vasilkovsky.

After graduating from school, in 1918, during the troubled and difficult times of revolutionary events in Ukraine, Glushchenko joined the Ukraine army. When the army was defeated, he, with the survivors of the White movement, was captured and taken to a Polish camp for internees. Glushchenko was able to escape to Germany in 1919, without any documents or livelihood. Luckily for the young artist, wealthy and influential Ukrainian emigrants came to the rescue. For instance, hetman P. Skoropadsky, the representative of the Ukrainian People's Republic in Berlin, has noticed Glushchenko's extraordinary gift for drawing as well as his curious mind and sponsored the young artist's studies in the private art school of Hans Baluschek. At this time Glushchenko is familiarising himself with the works of German artists Käthe Kollwitz and Adolf von Menzel. Glushchenko continued his education at the private school of Professor Arthur Kampf. Essentially, while being in Berlin, Glushchenko has made useful acquaintances and acquired a lot of beneficial connections. For example, the writer and film director O. Dovzhenko, who at that moment served at the Consulate of the USSR, later helped the artist to obtain a Soviet passport and introduced Glushchenko to V. Vinnichenko, who assisted the organisation of the first solo exhibition of Glushchenko in Berlin. In 1921, Glushchenko enrolled in the Academy of Arts, where he successfully completed his artistic education in 1924. It was the period when the young artist was particularly influenced by the works of the famous Swedish artist Anders Zorn. Glushchenko was acknowledged by the German art critics as early as in 1924 when several of his paintings were sent to the Kasper Art Gallery. One of the critics wrote that 'his portraits both in terms of execution and artistic means brightly show that this is an outstanding talent with a great intellectual-aesthetic complex'.

In the manner of countless other artists before him, Glushchenko decided to relocate to the artistic Mecca, to Paris. Thus, in 1925, Glushchenko moved to the city that astonishes the artist with its artistic tendencies and inspires him to reach a new level in his art. The impact of impressionism and especially Monet and Degas, post-impressionism and one of its most renowned representatives Vincent van Gogh, and, indeed, the followers of Fauvism like Matisse, Vlaminck and Derain, could not have been ignored by Glushchenko. The artist also greatly admired the works of the English artist J. M. W. Turner. Fortune had favoured Glushchenko, and the success has come promptly enough to his career. The artist was soon able to attract the approval of the French art critics. He exhibited in the most prestigious galleries in Paris such as Salon d'automne, Salon des Independants, and the Salon des Tuileries. His paintings were honoured to be displayed alongside works by Picasso, van Gogh and Matisse. In 1925, Glushchenko helped to decorate the Soviet pavilion at the exhibition in Lyon. As one of the leading artists of the USSR, he assisted with the organisation of Soviet expositions at international exhibitions in Brussels, Milan, Paris, and Marseille. He participated in the arrangement of exhibitions of Soviet artists in Paris, including an exhibition of Peter Konchalovsky. Glushchenko was always in the spotlight: an athletic, charming, proficient in conversations at the social gatherings, bright young man. The artist opened his art studio in Paris which was reminiscent of a cultural salon. He regularly gathered the most diverse audience in there: Parisians, tourists, former compatriots, intellectuals, government officials, leaders of Ukrainian foreign organisations. Even the Austro-Hungarian Archduke Wilhelm von Habsburg, a nephew of former Austrian Emperor Franz Joseph, was a frequent guest of this establishment. Consequently, in 1926, the studio was visited by the Soviet intelligence officers, who had found that Glushchenko's personality, his lifestyle and circle are suitable for their purposes. Thus, the artist has started to gather information for the Soviet Union. Some portraits, which Glushchenko painted since then, were ordered by the Soviet government as part of the artist's intelligence.

Glushchenko was a very socially active artist, and he concentrated not only on his art but also on the public artistic events. In the early 1930s, Glushchenko was a member of the Association of Independent Artists of Ukraine and participated in the organisation of a large-scale exhibition of Ukrainian, French and Italian works in the National Museum of Lviv. In 1934, he made a creative trip to Spain: the Balearic Islands and Mallorca. Influenced by Communist ideas, in 1936 the artist moved to Moscow. At the first opportunity, the artist was visiting his beloved Ukraine and focused on his painting of the surrounding landscape. He was permitted to live in Ukraine only after the war when his work began to reflect the officially accepted artistic direction of Socialist Realism. In 1944, the artist finally moved to Kiev. In the 1960s, contacts with Western countries, trips abroad and familiarity with new artistic trends eventually were settled in Glushchenko's work as the entire new stage of his career. He revived his paintings with expressive colours and took a leading position among Ukrainian colourists. There were thirty-two solo exhibitions during the artist's lifetime. More than ten exhibitions were held in Kyiv alone. Glushchenko's works were exhibited in Berlin in 1924, in Paris there were 5 exhibitions of the artist from 1925 to 1934, in Milan in 1927, in Ostend in 1927, in Budapest in 1930 and 1932, in Stockholm in 1931, in Rome in 1933, in Lviv in 1934 and 1935, in Moscow in 1943 and 1959, in Belgrade in 1966 and 1968, in London in 1966, in Toronto in 1967 and 1969. In the 1970s, the artist became interested in the technique of monotype. Glushchenko died on October 31, 1977, in Kyiv. The artist left more than ten thousand works that are scattered around the world in private collections and museums in Russia, Ukraine, Germany, France, Canada and the USA. 

Bibliography:
Асеева Н. Ю. Художественные контакты Советской Украины и Франции в 20–30-е годы // Советское искусствознание–81. М., 1982. Вып. 1. С. 293-307.
Buhaienko, I. Mykola Hlushchenko (Kyiv 1973)
day.kyiv.ua. (2014). “A Parisian handsome man, bohemian, and painter”. [online] Available at: https://day.kyiv.ua/en/article/time-out/parisian-handsome-man-bohemian-and-painter
Demyanok, A. (2013). Николай Глущенко: художник и разведчик | Информационно-аналитическое издание. [online] Odnarodyna.org. Available at: https://odnarodyna.org/content/nikolay-glushchenko-hudozhnik-i-razvedchik
Epoque.com.ua. (n.d.). Художники. Николай Глущенко. [online] Available at: http://epoque.com.ua/ru/info/authors/5/162.html
Kovzhun, P.; Hordyns'kyi, S. Mykola Hlushchenko (Lviv 1934)
Shpakov, A. Mykola Petrovych Hlushchenko (Kyiv 1962)
Ukrainian Art Library. (n.d.). Mykola Hlushchenko: My best picture has not been created yet – Ukrainian Art Library. [online] Available at: http://en.uartlib.org/mykola-hlushchenko-best-picture-not-created-yet/