Каталог
Николай Николаевич Баскаков

Николай Николаевич Баскаков

1918 —1993

Николай Баскаков родился в маленьком поселке (ныне имеющий название Советский) вблизи Астрахани, в южной части России, 8 мая 1918 года. Художник рос в многодетной семье, в которой было семь детей, с отцом столяром по профессии и матерью, которая занималась детьми и хозяйством. Судьба распорядилась так, что вместо того чтобы стать судовым плотником, на которого Баскаков выучился в ремесленном училище, он решил поступать в Астраханский художественно-педагогический техникум в 1934 году. Баскакову посчастливилось проходить обучение под руководством Павла Алексеевича Власова, талантливого педагога и видного художника, среди учеников которого был Борис Михайлович Кустодиев.

В 1939 году, после блестящего окончания техникума, Баскаков был призван в армию и отправился служить на Дальний Восток. Еще до призыва на службу, художник успешно прошел вступительную комиссию в Институт Искусства, Скульптуры и Архитектуры имени Репина в Ленинграде и был зачислен на первый курс. Однако, война бесцеремонно вмешалась в эти планы, и Баскаков смог начать обучение только в 1945 году, после демобилизации. Во время войны, в 1942 году, Баскаков был переведен в Хабаровск, и служил при художественной студии при Доме Красной Армии Дальневосточного фронта. Успех приходит в 1943 году, когда у художника происходит первое участие в выставке: его картину "Хабаровск, год 1942" показывают в Москве. В 1943 году его работа "Тимуровцы" демонстрируют на выставке в Новосибирске. Баскаков так же активно участвовал в выпуске мотивационных, призывающих к действию, плакатов на антифашистские темы.

Вплоть до 1951 года, Баскаков проходит обучение в Ленинграде и в том же году становится членом Ленинградской организации Союза Художников. Баскаков проявляет себя как яркий пример Ленинградской Школы Живописи. Художника явно волновал образ Ленина в искусстве. Он часто возвращался к этой теме в своих работах пытаясь избежать пафоса и возвеличивания, черт, которые нередко можно встретить в более ранних работах, посвященных Ленину, и норовя уловить тонкий психологический аспект, который так важен в портретах. Баскаков стремился к созданию работ большой общественной значимости, к раскрытию внутреннего драматизма, к эпическому звучанию и в то же время подчеркиванию индивидуального мироощущения, внимание к ускользающим деталям каждого дня. Эти явления особенно заметны в работах Баскакова второй половины 1960-х и 1970-х годов. Его работы охватывают такие жанры как пейзаж, натюрморт, портрет, этюд и бытовая картина. Во многом, живопись Баскакова можно отнести к социальному реализму, однако в его работах чувствуется тяга к испытанию себя в новых темах, жанрах и стилях. В 1980-х годах, в работах художника особенно чувствуется радостное мироощущение и его индивидуальный подход. Возможно, на это повлиял тот факт, что художник был заядлым путешественником, не прекращающим расширять свой кругозор. Баскаков много ездил по стране, а также побывал в Индии, Малайзии, Турции, Сингапуре, Франции, ГДР, Италии.

Выставка в Париже в 1989 году принесла Баскакову мировую известность и сейчас его работы находятся во множестве стран мира, как в частных коллекциях, так и в музеях. Художник скончался в возрасте семидесяти шести лет 14 октября 1993 года в Санкт-Петербурге.


Источники:

Ivanov, S. (2007). Unknown socialist realism. St. Petersburg: NP Print.

Kirillov, V. and Baskakov, N. (1991). Nikolai Nikolaevich Baskakov. St. Peterburg: "Khudozhnik RSFSR.."

Inventory
Nikolay Nikolaevich Baskakov

Nikolay Nikolaevich Baskakov

1918 —1993
Nikolay Baskakov was born in a small village (now called Sovetsky) close to Astrakhan, in Southern Russia on 8 May 1918. He was raised in a large family of seven children, with a father who was a carpenter, and a mother, who was a housewife. After completing a certified industrial school, rather than following his father's steps and pursuing a career of a carpenter, Baskakov decided to study in the Astrakhan School of Art in 1934. The artist was lucky enough to become a pupil of a talented art teacher and a distinguished artist himself, Pavel Aleksandrovich Vlasov, who had amongst his other students a prominent Russian artist Boris Mikhailovich Kustodiev.

Baskakov was a very successful student and graduated with distinction from the Astrakhan School of Art in 1939. Baskakov'v artistic abilities were fully appreciated by the Admissions Committee of the Ilya Repin Institute of Art, Sculpture and Architecture in Leningrad, and he was enrolled to the Department of Painting. However, the war broke out, and the artist was called up for service in the armed forces to the Far East. During the wartime in 1942, he was transferred to Khabarovsk and served at the Artistic Studio at the House of Red Army of the Far-Eastern front. Success came in 1943 when the artist participated in an exhibition for the first time: his painting which is called 'Khabarovsk, 1942' is shown in Moscow. In 1943, his painting 'Timurovci' was demonstrated during the exhibition in Novosibirsk. Also, Baskakov was actively participating in the production of motivational, calling for action, anti-fascist posters. He could return to the Ilya Repin Institute in Leningrad only in 1945, after being demobilised.

Baskakov graduated in 1951 and by that time he had already presented himself as a vivid member of the Leningrad School of Soviet Panting, vigorously exhibiting his work amongst the other successful and prominent artists of that time and was eventually granted membership of the Leningrad Union of Soviet Artists. Lenin and his depiction in the art was a particularly exciting topic for Baskakov. He often was returning to this subject matter across the years trying to avoid being pretentious and pompous, expressing the character without putting the figure of Lenin on a pedestal, which was usually the case with earlier works dedicated to Lenin. Baskakov was trying to engage with the subject on a deeper level and representing a more portrait-like aspect of psychological intimacy. In his work, the artist was craving for a societal value of his art as well as showing a great deal of inherent drama of his subject matters. The artist's work shows something almost epic and at the same time reveals the intricacy of individual, subjective emotions showing considerable attention to the ephemeral details of the mundane bustle. These tendencies are particularly evident in Baskakov's works of the late 1960s and 1970s.

Baskakov's oeuvre is quite extensive and includes military and historical subject-matters, genre, portraits, landscapes, and etudes. A great deal of his work can be attributed to the social realism movement. However, an eagerness towards the new themes, genres and styles and a desire to test his limits are visible in his paintings. Baskakov notably manifested his approach and his joyous perception of the world in his works of the 1980s. Perhaps, this was influenced by the fact, that the artist was an avid traveller continually expanding his horizons. He was travelling a lot across his homeland as well as visiting India, Malaysia, Singapore, Turkey, France, the German Democratic Republic, Italy.

An exhibition in Paris in 1989 contributed significantly to Baskakov's reputation worldwide. Consequently, a lot of his paintings were purchased by private collectors and numerous museums across the world. Baskakov died at the age of seventy-six on October 14, 1993, in Saint Petersburg.

Bibliography:
Ivanov, S. (2007). Unknown socialist realism. St. Petersburg: NP Print.
Kirillov, V. and Baskakov, N. (1991). Nikolai Nikolaevich Baskakov. St. Peterburg: "Khudozhnik RSFSR.."